The washing

It is recommended to use a mild and ecological glycerin-free detergent, without Marseille soap. (The glycerin waterproofs the fabrics, i.e. decreases the absorption capacity, thus increasing leakage risks).

The dosage must be respected, so as not to clog the diapers with detergent residues. Many women users affirm that a half-dose is more than enough. Optionally, add a descaling agent for very hard water. The more you use products, the more you will have residues in your clothes.

Before the first use

According to the absorbent core, various fabrics (cotton terry, hemp, bamboo, fleece…), new cloth diapers reach their maximum absorbency after about ten washes. Do not condemn immediately the diaper model if you notice leaks. Double the insert or change your child more often to prevent the mishaps.

Storing

Storing is simply done in a pail or a diaper bag until the washing. (max. 2-3 days). Since the stools are thrown away, the storing will produce only little odours. Regarding the antibacterial and deodorising aspect, you can drop a cotton pad soaked with tea-tree essential oil in the storage pail.

If there have been stools overflows (despite the protective sheet) rinse the diaper under lukewarm water without scrubbing before storing and then washing it.

Washing

The diapers, diaper covers and inserts are washed at 40-60 degrees, together with the linen. To preserve and not to damage the rest of the load it is recommended to fasten the velcros. You can do a prewash but this is not compulsory. This soaking in the machine, followed by a spin-drying carried out prior to the wash cycle allows eliminating the urine and stools.

If the child is sick or the stains persist, the diapers can be washed at 60 degrees.

Conventional diapers can also be washed at 90 degrees, however for energy saving reasons and not to shorten the lifespan of the diapers, the program at 60 degrees is preferabl


Sandra Siebenaller idwife pediatric nurse baby massage cloth nappies consultant


Sandra Siebenaller Founder of Nappilla.

Midwife | pediatric nurse | baby massage | cloth nappies consultant

La lessive

Il est recommandé d'utiliser une lessive douce et écologique sans glycérine, sans savon de Marseille. (La glycérine imperméabilise les textiles, c’est-à-dire, diminue la capacité d'absorption, augmentant ainsi le risque de fuite).

Le dosage est à respecter, pour ne pas encrasser les couches avec des résidus de lessive. Nombreuses utilisatrices précisent qu'une demi-dose suffit amplement. Eventuellement, rajouter un détartrant pour les eaux très dures. Plus vous utilisez de produit, plus vous aurez de résidus dans votre linge.

Avant le premier emploi

Selon le noyau d'absorption, différents textiles (coton éponge, chanvre, bambou, polaire..), les couches lavables neuves atteignent leur capacité maximale d'absorption après une dizaine de lavages. Ne condamnez pas toute suite le modèle de couches si vous remarquez des fuites. Doublez l'insert ou changez votre enfant plus souvent afin d'éviter les accidents.

Stockage

Le stockage se fait tout simplement dans un seau ou un sac à couche en attendant le lavage. (2-3 jours max.) Étant donné que les selles sont jetées, le stockage produira que peu d'odeurs. Pour le coté antibactérien et désodorisant, vous pouvez glisser un coton imbibé d'huile essentiel d'arbre à thé (tea-tree) dans le seau de stockage.
S'il y a eu des débordements de selles, (malgré le papier de protection,) rincez la couche sous l'eau tiède sans frotter avant de la stocker puis la laver.

Lavage

Les couches, culottes de protection et inserts se lavent à 40-60 dégrées, ensemble avec le linge de maison. Pour préserver et ne pas abîmer le reste du linge, il est recommandé de fermer les velcros. Vous pouvez effectuer un prélavage mais celui-ci n'est pas obligatoire. Ce trempage en machine, suivie d'un essorage effectué avant le cycle de lavage permet d'éliminer l'urine et les selles.

Si l'enfant est malade ou les tâches persistent, les couches peuvent être lavées à 60 dégrées.

Les couches classiques peuvent être aussi lavées à 90 dégrées, cependant pour des raisons d'économie d'énergie et pour ne pas raccourcir la durée de vie des couches, le programme à 60 dégrées et préférable.


Sandra Siebenaller sage-femme infirmière en pédiatrie massage bébé conseillère en couches lavables


Sandra Siebenaller Fondatrice de Nappilla.

Sage-femme | infirmière en pédiatrie | massage bébé | conseillère couches lavables.