What is a cloth nappy?

An absorbent core:

  • it retains urine
  • washable

A protective sheet:

  • it helps to protect the diaper and dispose of the stools
  • can be washed

The fabrics:

  • wool
  • fleece 
  • cotton
  • polyurethane laminate (PUL)
  • bamboo
  • hemp
What is à cloth nappy, practical, attractive cloth nappy is not dirty

Practical, attractive and effective, today’s cloth diaper has all the characteristicsof a modern and easy to use product: it is used asa disposable diaper and adapts perfectly to each baby’s features.Chemical-free, it represents no risk to the health of toddlers. Long-lasting, they can be used for a second, or even a third child! Making it also economical. 

Modern cloth nappies suffer from an unjustified, archaic image. An example is:

Cloth nappies= dirty hands? False.

Washable and degradable sheets allow retrieving the stools without dirtying the hands and throwing them into the toilet bowl.  Washing machines are widely used and increasingly efficient and the diapers can be washed together with the rest of the laundry.  They are therefore fully compatible with the lifestyle and modernity of industrialised countries. They also offer advantages in terms of comfort, economy and ecology.

From an environmental perspective, the cloth diapers generate 60 times less solid waste than disposable diapers. In addition they require 3.5 times less energy, 2 to 3 times less water, 3 times less non-renewable raw materials and finally 90 times less renewable materials in their manufacture.

Healthwise, cloth diapers allow the skin to breathe.  Free from any chemical element, they are less aggressive to the baby’s skin. 8.9. Furthermore, children wearing cloth diapers normally get used to potty training faster than those using disposable diapers.

Finally, from the economical angle, cloth diapers are cheaper. They allow more than € 800 savings for a single child. Since cloth diapers can be used for several children, they lead to a reduction in costs.

Therefore cloth diapers are the future, we should get used to them !

Admittedly, some technical vocabulary confuses a little the novices, to become unbeatable on the subject consult our glossary. But no need to panic, it isn’t essential to have a degree to understand how they function !


Sandra Siebenaller idwife pediatric nurse baby massage cloth nappies consultant


Sandra Siebenaller Founder of Nappilla.

Midwife | pediatric nurse | baby massage | cloth nappies consultant

Les couches lavables: A quoi cela ressemble?

Une couche lavable: a quoi ça ressemble? c'est quoi?

Pratique, jolie et efficace, la couche lavable d’aujourd’hui présente toutes les caractéristiques d’un produit moderne et facile d’utilisation: elle s’utilise comme une couche jetable et s’adapte parfaitement à la physionomie de chaque bébé. Dépourvue de produits chimiques, elle ne fait courir aucun risque à la santé des tout-petits. Résistantes, elles peuvent servir à un deuxième, voir un troisième enfant! Ce qui la rend également économique.

Les couches lavables modernes souffrent d’une image archaïque, non justifiée. Un exemple est:

Couches lavables = les mains sales? Faux.

Des feuillets lavables et dégradables permettent de récupérer les selles sans se salir les mains et les jeter aux toilettes. Les machines à laver sont répandues et de plus en plus performantes et les couches peuvent être lavées avec le reste du linge. Elles sont donc tout à fait compatibles avec le mode de vie et la modernité des pays industrialisés. Elles offrent par ailleurs des avantages en matière de confort, d’économie et d’écologie.

D’un point de vue écologique, les couches lavables produisent 60 fois moins de déchets solides que les couches jetables. De plus elles nécessitent 3,5 fois moins d’énergie, 2 à 3 fois moins d’eau, 3 fois moins de matières premières non renouvelables et enfin 90 fois moins de matières renouvelables pour leur fabrication.

Du coté santé, les couches lavables permettent à la peau de respirer. Ne contenants aucun élément chimique, elles sont moins agressives pour la peau du bébé.8 9. De plus, les enfants portant des couches lavables acquièrent habituellement plus rapidement la propreté que ceux utilisant des couches jetables.

Enfin au point de vue économique, les couches lavables coûtent moins cher. Elles permettent une économie de plus de 800€ pour un seul enfant. Puisque les couches lavables peuvent être utilisées pour plusieurs enfants, elles engendrent une baisse des coûts.

Donc les couches lavables sont le future, il va falloir s’y faire !

Certes, un certain vocabulaire technique déroute un peu les débutants, pour devenir incollable sur le sujet consultez notre glossaire. Mais pas de panique, il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir un diplôme spécialisé pour comprendre leur fonctionnement !


Sandra Siebenaller sage-femme infirmière en pédiatrie massage bébé conseillère en couches lavables


Sandra Siebenaller Fondatrice de Nappilla.

Sage-femme | infirmière en pédiatrie | massage bébé | conseillère couches lavables.